Department Of Energy Celebrates Plant Floor Employees

Aug. 10, 2020
Energy Department announces eight winners of the Individuals Taking Energy Action in Manufacturing Prize.

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) announces the winners of the Individuals Taking Energy Action in Manufacturing (ITEAM) Prize. Launched in 2018, the ITEAM Prize recognizes individuals who have implemented creative, specific and innovative ideas and practices that led to measurable energy savings at their manufacturing facilities.

“Through the ITEAM Prize, DOE celebrates employees on the plant floor who are improving their companies’ energy efficiency,” says Alex Fitzsimmons, deputy assistant secretary for energy efficiency. “Their innovative leadership is driving cost savings and strengthening competitiveness for manufacturers across the U.S.”

ITEAM prize winners will receive a cash prize of $5,000 and will be recognized at the virtual Association of Energy Engineers World Energy Conference and Expo. To facilitate sharing of successful strategies and examples of leadership, winning ideas and practices are highlighted on the Better Buildings Solutions Center website for the benefit of U.S. manufacturing facilities nationwide.

The eight winners are:

  • George Anglin, Toyota Manufacturing, Texas
  • Jeff Feyen, Charter Steel
  • Marcus Johnson, Eastman Chemical
  • Terry McMichael, 3M
  • Mike Rogers, 3M
  • Rochelle Samuel, Saint-Gobain North America
  • Nick Sayles, Saint-Gobain North America
  • David Turkes, Bentley Mills

DOE also recognizes the following project team with an honorable mention:

  • Andy Hopkins, John Henry, Marc Matsen, Chris Hottes and James Kestner, Boeing

The ITEAM competition was open to individuals employed at manufacturing plants operating at a U.S.-based facility. Applicants were evaluated by their innovativeness, impact on energy savings leadership, and effectiveness in engaging other workers at their sites. The ITEAM prize is part of the Sustainability in Manufacturing Partnership, announced by DOE in April 2018 in collaboration with the National Association of Manufacturers  (NAM). Through this partnership, fostered by DOE’s Better Plants program, DOE and the NAM work together to help U.S. manufacturers drive energy productivity improvements and accelerate the adoption of energy efficient technologies. The ITEAM prize was facilitated by the DOE’s Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy’s Advanced Manufacturing Office, which supports early-stage research to advance innovation in U.S. manufacturing and promote American economic growth and energy security.

For more information, visit:

Sponsored Recommendations

Keys to Improving Safety in Chemical Processes (PDF)

Many facilities handle dangerous processes and products on a daily basis. Keeping everything under control demands well-trained people working with the best equipment.

Get Hands-On Training in Emerson's Interactive Plant Environment

Enhance the training experience and increase retention by training hands-on in Emerson's Interactive Plant Environment. Build skills here so you have them where and when it matters...

Managing and Reducing Methane Emission in Upstream Oil & Gas

Measurement Instrumentation for reducing emissions, improving efficiency and ensuring safety.

Micro Motion 4700 Coriolis Configurable Inputs and Outputs Transmitter

The Micro Motion 4700 Coriolis Transmitter offers a compact C1D1 (Zone 1) housing. Bluetooth and Smart Meter Verification are available.