IChemE Seeks Medal Nominations

Oct. 2, 2015
The Institution of Chemical Engineers calls for nominations for the latest round of medals and prizes.

IChemE medal nominations are open.

The Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) calls for nominations for the latest round of medals and prizes. The medals recognize excellence in 20 categories, covering outstanding research, career achievements and services to the profession and Institution.

Nominations close October 31. Self-nominations will not be considered.

IChemE medals include:

  • Ambassador Prize

The Ambassador prize is awarded to an IChemE member who has made an exceptional contribution the profession and Institution. The prize is typically awarded in recognition of a sustained period of work on a short to medium term project.

  • Andrew Medal

In memory of Professor Syd Andrew, the Andrew Medal recognizes a major contribution in the field of heterogeneous catalysts.

  • Bird, Stewart and Lightfoot Medal

The medal recognizes a major contribution to research in the area of transport phenomena.

  • Collier Medal

John Collier is a former president of IChemE. His medal is co-sponsored by IChemE, Royal Society and Royal Academy of Engineering. It is awarded in the field of energy, including the interface between energy, the environment and technology.

  • Council Medal

The Council medal is awarded to an individual who has given exceptional service on an IChemE special project.

  • George E Davis Medal

Named after the founding father of the chemical engineering profession, the George E Davis medal recognizes an eminent individual in the profession.

  • Donald Medal

The Donald medal is awarded to an individual for outstanding services in biochemical engineering. It is names after honorary secretary and former Ramsay professor at University College London, Maxwell Donald.

  • Franklin Medal

Ned Franklin is a former IChemE president who worked in the nuclear industry. His medal recognizes outstanding service in occupational health, safety, loss prevention and care for the environment.

  • Arnold Greene Medal

[Frank] Arnold Greene was a founder member of IChemE who served as president in 1943-44 and also held the post of honorary treasurer. The medal is awarded each year for the most meritorious long-term contribution to the progress of IChemE.

  • Hanson Medal

The Hanson medal is for the best contributor to the Institution's magazine tce (the chemical engineer) each year and is named after a past chairman of tce’s editorial advisory board.

  • Hebden Medal

This medal is named Dr Dennis Hebden, an employee of British Gas, and is awarded for outstanding service in the field of gasification research, development and commercialization.

  • Hutchison Medal

Hutchison medal is named in memory of Sir Kenneth Hutchison CBE, president of IChemE in 1959-1960. The medal is awarded for practical and wide-ranging, philosophical or thought-provoking published papers. 

  • Frank Lees Medal

Frank Lees was a professor at Loughborough University and his medal is awarded to the most meritorious publication on the topic of safety and loss prevention in an IChemE publication.

  • Macnab-Lacey Prize

The Macnab-Lacey prize is awarded to a student design project that best shows how chemical engineering practice can contribute to a more sustainable world. The prize is open to all design projects involving students on courses accredited by IChemE.

  • Senior Moulton Medal

Lord Moulton is known for the development of chemical engineering during the 1914-18 war when he took charge of explosives supply. The Senior Moulton medal is awarded to the author, or authors, of a mature nature, for the most meritorious paper published by IChemE during the last year.

  • Junior Moulton Medal

The Junior Moulton medal follows the same criteria as the Senior Moulton medal. It recognizes the most meritorious paper published by IChemE during the last year by the author, or co-author, who has graduated within the last ten years (excluding career breaks) at the time of submission of the paper.

  • Frank Morton Medal

Former president, professor Frank Morton’s commitment to teaching is commemorated with his medal, which recognizes excellence in chemical engineering education.

  • Nicklin Medal

The Early Careers medal recognizes and rewards up–and-coming researchers, active in any research area within chemical and process engineering.

  • MN Sharma Medal

This medal recognizes sustained outstanding research contributions in chemical engineering across an individual’s career.

  • Sargent Medal

Named after Roger Sargent, former president of IChemE and professor of chemical engineering at Imperial College, the medal recognizes a major contribution to research in the area of computer-aided product and process engineering.

For more information, visit: www.icheme.org

Sponsored Recommendations

Heat Recovery: Turning Air Compressors into an Energy Source

More than just providing plant air, they're also a useful source of heat, energy savings, and sustainable operations.

Controls for Industrial Compressed Air Systems

Master controllers leverage the advantages of each type of compressor control and take air system operations and efficiency to new heights.

Discover Your Savings Potential with the Kaeser Toolbox

Discover your compressed air station savings potential today with our toolbox full of calculators that will help you determine how you can optimize your system!

The Art of Dryer Sizing

Read how to size compressed air dryers with these tips and simple calculations and correction factors from air system specialists.