Environmental Health & Safety

IChemE Awards Lee Tzu Yang Honorary Fellowship

By Chemical Processing Staff

Oct 21, 2016

Lee Tzu Yang, former chairman of Shell Singapore, is awarded an honorary fellowship by the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) in recognition of his commitment to Singapore’s growth in the petroleum and petrochemicals sector. Tzu Yang was presented with the fellowship by IChemE President Jonathan Seville at a ceremony held in the Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) where Tzu Yang serves as chair. He is reportedly the second Singaporean to receive the recognition. Honorary fellow status is one of the highest honors awarded by IChemE.

Tzu Yang joined Shell Singapore in 1979 and retired as chairman toward the end of 2014. He founded the WSHC (Workplace Safety and Health Council) in 2008 and was chair for eight years. The council has contributed to the drafting of Singapore’s Safety Case legislation for major hazard instillations. He is currently chair of the board of the Esplanade (Singapore’s national center for performing arts), the Casino Regulatory Authority of Singapore and the National University of Singapore (NUS) Middle East Institute.

“Tzu Yang’s name was put forward because he has shown great leadership in growing the chemical process industry into a key pillar of the economy and in Singapore more widely,” says IChemE Singapore Chair Joe Eades. “It’s important that we recognize his valuable contribution, particularly his work with the WSHC which has had such a positive impact.”

Tzu Yang is IChemE’s first 2016 honorary fellow, and the second Singaporean to receive the recognition. He joins such high profile figures as former BP Chief Executive Sir John Browne, nuclear industry expert Dame Sue Ion and fellow Singaporean and former Minister for Education Lee Yock Suan.

For more information, visit: www.icheme.org