ACC Pans Biden’s Chemical Safety Board Picks

May 4, 2021
ACC urges White House to identify Chemical Safety Board nominees with process safety experience.

The American Chemistry Council (ACC) issued the following statement regarding the White House’s announcement to nominate Sylvia Johnson, Steve Owens and Jennifer Sass to serve on the Chemical Safety Board (CSB) (See: Biden Nominates Three To Chemical Safety Board.) The statement:

"Process safety experience is critical to an effective Chemical Safety Board. We are disappointed that the current slate of nominees lack sufficient experience and familiarity with industrial process safety practices or chemical manufacturing operations – all of which are essential to fulfilling the Board’s congressionally mandated safety mission.

“The CSB has the important job of conducting complex investigations of major accidents and making recommendations, which is why it must be managed by qualified board members. We urge the administration to work with industry and other stakeholders on advancing nominees with the requisite skills and experience to successfully carry out the CSB's valuable work."

For more information, visit: