AIChE Announces New President And Board

By Chemical Processing Staff

Nov 26, 2014

Cheryl Teich, reaction engineering expertise area leader at The Dow Chemical Company, will become president of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) in 2015. Teich succeeds 2014 president Otis Shelton, former director of the corporate safety and environmental services assessment program for Praxair and its facilities worldwide. President-Elect Gregory Stephanopoulos, the W.H. Dow professor of chemical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology joins Teich on AIChE’s board of directors.

Newly elected directors of the AIChE Board are: Alan Nelson, research and development director for performance monomers at The Dow Chemical Company; John O’Connell, professor emeritus of chemical engineering at the University of Virginia; Anne Skaja Robinson, chair of the chemical and biomolecular engineering department at Tulane University, and Sharon Robinson, senior staff member at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. AIChE directors serve three-year terms.

Teich, an AIChE fellow and a trustee of the AIChE Foundation, previously served on the board of directors from 2007 to 2009. As chair of AIChE’s Chemical Engineering Technology Operating Council, Teich shepherded the formation of AIChE’s Pharmaceutical Discovery, Development and Manufacturing Forum. She is an expert in process development and reaction engineering, and a founding member of AIChE’s Process Development Division. She earned her B.S. and M.S. degrees in chemical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering at Stevens Institute of Technology.

For more information, visit:



Show Comments
Hide Comments

Join the discussion

We welcome your thoughtful comments.
All comments will display your user name.

Want to participate in the discussion?

Register for free

Log in for complete access.


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments